Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join

In an effort to recognize excellence in design, AIA Iowa offers several award programs. For each award a jury of respected professionals from within the architecture and design communities meet to recognize the finest from within our state. The AIA Iowa Design Award Programs are open to all members of AIA Iowa. 

You can learn more about all of our awards here. Complete guidelines will be shared within each award's call for entries. Past award winning projects can be found at IowaArchitecture.org


Design Award Programs

2019 Dates of Importance
June 17:        Program Opens
August 14:     Deadline for Forms and Fees
August 16:     Final Deadline for Entry

  • Excellence in Design
    To recognize excellence in architecture projects which are designed by members of AIA Iowa and emphasize the importance of architecture in the community.
  • 25-Year Award
    To recognize longstanding excellence in architecture and emphasizes its importance in the community. 
  • Excellence in Craft
    To recognize Iowa craftspeople and/or companies who demonstrate particular skill and inventiveness in the execution and incorporation of their craft into our built environment.
  • Central States Region Excellence in Design
    This program is held annually, however only AIA Iowa hosts these every five years during the AIA Iowa / Central States Region (CSR) Convention.

Individual Member Award Programs


Each year, AIA Iowa accepts nominations for outstanding leadership. The following three categories of AIA Iowa’s most important recognition. Nominations are sought each spring and the winner is announced at the AIA Iowa Annual Convention.

  • Medal of Honor
    This award recognizes an AIA Iowa member for distinguished service to the profession of architecture.
    Application for 2019 due July 12th
    To view past recipients visit Medal of Honor Award

  • Honorary Membership Award
    This award recognizes a person of esteemed character who is not eligible for membership in the Institute of this Chapter but who has rendered distinguished service to the profession of architecture or to the arts and science allied therewith within the territory of this Chapter may be admitted to membership in it as an Honorary Member.
    Application for 2019 due July 12th

    To view past recipients visit Honorary Membership Award.
  • Educator Award
    This award recognizes an Iowa educator within or outside the profession for his/her contributions to architectural education in Iowa. Any AIA Iowa member, colleague or student may nominate candidates for this award.
    Application for 2019 due August 2nd
    To view past recipients visit Educator Award.
  • Young Architect Award
    The Young Architect Award is given to individuals who have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession in the areas of design, education, and / or service in an early stage of their architectural career.
    Application for 2019 due August 2nd
    To view past recipients visit Young Architect Award.

  • Impact Award
    The Impact Award is a BRAND NEW award for AIA Iowa in 2019. This award recognizes team members including architects, designers, and other collaborators for an architectural project specifically designed to directly benefit social, humanitarian, community or environmental causes.


AIA Fellowship

The AIA Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Election to Fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of the architect as an individual, but also honors before the public and the profession a model architect who has made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level. To apply for fellowship visit AIA.org. AIA Iowa is honored to have 12 fellows among our current members with 40 total Fellows in our Chapter history. You can find them here.

AIA Iowa Firm Members