Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Press Releases

Paul Mankins, FAIA, with Substance Architecture receives AIA Iowa Medal of Honor

Friday, September 27, 2013  

Paul Mankins, FAIA, with Substance Architecture

receives AIA Iowa Medal of Honor

Des Moines, Iowa (September 27, 2013) – The American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter (AIA Iowa), awarded Paul Mankins, FAIA, with Substance Architecture in Des Moines the 2013 AIA Iowa Medal of Honor Thursday, September 26, at the AIA Iowa Award Celebration at the FFA Enrichment Center in Ankeny. The purpose of the AIA Iowa Medal of Honor is to recognize an AIA Iowa Member for distinguished service to the profession of architecture.  


Mankins has exemplified architectural excellence throughout his career by advancing the profession through his role as a designer, mentor, leader, educator and advocate. Mankins has been recognized with over 40 Honor and Merit Awards for design from the Central States Region, Iowa, and San Francisco Chapters of the American Institute of Architects, as well as honors from AIA National. Recent recognized projects include 322 Reinvented, a residential structure in Iowa City; the restoration of the U.S. Courthouse in Cedar Rapids; Oreon E. Scott Memorial Chapel at Drake University and the Principal Riverwalk Pavilion and Pump Station in Des Moines. 


Over the course of his professional career, Mankins has held multiple leadership positions on a statewide, regional and national level. He was elected to the College of Fellows in 2004, has been a member of the AIA Committee on Design, has served on the AIA Iowa Board, Executive Committee and as Board President and from 2009-2011, served on the National Board of Directors for AIA. 


Currently, Mankins is the Principal at Substance Architecture in Des Moines. Prior to his work at Substance, he worked at Herbert Lewis Blunk Architecture in Des Moines, Smith Miller + Hawkinson in New York City and Kaplan McLaughlin Diaz in San Francisco. Mankins has been an AIA member since 1985. A Des Moines Roosevelt graduate, Mankins earned his Bachelor of Arts in Architecture degree at Iowa State University and his Masters of Architecture from Yale University. 


The 2013 AIA Iowa Awards Celebration also includes AIA Iowa Excellence in Design Awards, AIA Iowa Excellence in Craft Award, and AIA Iowa Educator Award. The Awards Celebration was held in conjunction with the AIA Iowa Annual Fall Convention on Thursday and Friday at the Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center in Des Moines. The 2013 Convention, "Feedback," is focused around the importance of mentorship to the development of a strong architectural profession which has a tremendous impact on neighborhoods, communities and cities today and into the future.


About AIA Iowa

Since 1857, the American Institute of Architects has represented the professional interests of America’s architects. AIA Iowa, headquartered in Des Moines, is a statewide affiliate of the national AIA with 967 members. AIA Iowa members express their commitment to excellence in design and are proactive in the design of livable communities. Members adhere to a code of ethics and professional conduct that assures the client, the public, and colleagues of an AIA member architect’s dedication to the highest standards in profession. 




For interviews with the award winner, please contact Marisol Molstre at (515) 282-7145 or e-mail her at  


View PDF Here

AIA Iowa Firm Members