Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Press Releases

AIA Iowa Awards Scholarship to Iowa State Students

Friday, August 21, 2020  

Des Moines, IA (August 21, 2020) - The American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter (AIA Iowa) is pleased to announce the Iowa State University College of Design recipients of four scholarships distributed yearly by AIA Iowa.

The 2020 AIA Iowa/AIA National Diversity Scholarship was awarded to James Arnold and Henry Melendrez-Corado. Each will receive $1,000. James Arnold is going into his fifth and final year in the Architecture department at ISU. He said, "I chose this major because architecture is so impactful in everyday life as it surrounds us at every moment. Architectural design is a combination of aesthetics and practicality, of structure and living." Henry Melendrez-Corado is also entering his fifth and final year at ISU. Melendrez-Corado was a recipient of AIA Iowa's 2nd place award in the Emerging Professionals Competition and Exhibition at the 2019 Annual Convention. About receiving this scholarship, he said, "I hope to be a voice that speaks loudly for people of color and diversity, specifically Latino students within the United States. Receiving scholarships such as the AIA Iowa/AIA National Diversity Scholarship not only furthers my ability to achieve these types of goals but also confirms the ability and desire that I have within me to create change and inspire others."

The 2020 AIA National/AIA Merit Scholarship was awarded to Mia Tiric. She will receive $1,000. Mia Tiric is a fourth-year student in the Bachelor of Architecture degree program at Iowa State. She finished the 2019-2020 school year in the top 2% of her class at ISU. She said, "By awarding me the AIA National/AIA Merit Scholarship, you have allowed me to spend more time focusing on my education and less on financial burdens. Thank you for your support."

The 2020 William M Dikis Scholarship was awarded to Mercedes Cooper and Cody Goedken. Each will receive $625. Mercedes Cooper is a second-year student in the architecture program at ISU. She said, "As I progress in the field of architecture, I want to make a difference in under-developed spaces and take part in building a sustainable and inclusive world." Cody Goedken is a third-year architecture student from Worthington, Iowa. He said. "This award will greatly aid in my efforts to pay for my education...I am truly looking forward to being able to return to the classroom and daily life at ISU knowing that someone believes in my future and has given me such a generous scholarship in the William M. Dikis FAIA Architecture Service Scholarship."

The AIA Iowa Scholarship was awarded to Emma Bontrager. She will receive $800. Emma Bontrager is a second year architecture student at ISU. She said, "I have been interested in architecture since I was a little girl, and growing up as an architect's daughter fueled my passion for the profession...I hope to continue to combine my passions for architecture and helping other in my career after I graduate."


Since 1857, the American Institute of Architects has represented the professional interests of America's architects. AIA Iowa, headquartered in Des Moines, is a statewide affiliate of the national AIA. AIA Iowa members express their commitment to excellence in design and are proactive in the design of livable communities. Members adhere to a code of ethics and professional conduct that assures the client, the public, and colleagues of an AIA member architect's dedication to the highest standards in professional practice. For more information, go to www.aiaiowa.org or call 515.244.7502.

#          #          #
For interviews or pictures, please contact Jessica Reinert at AIA Iowa, (515) 244-7502, or e-mail her at jreinert@aiaiowa.org.

AIA Iowa Firm Members