Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Press Releases

Iowa City Architects Elected to 2018 AIA Iowa Board

Monday, January 8, 2018  

Iowa City, Iowa (January 8, 2018) – The American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter (AIA Iowa), has elected Nick Lindsley, AIA and Alan Wieskamp, AIA both of Iowa City as Directors of the AIA Iowa Board.


Nick Lindsley, AIA, is Project Architect and Shareholder at Neumann Monson Architects, an innovative design practice with studios in Iowa City and Des Moines.  Lindsley graduated from Iowa State University, where he received a Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) with a secondary major of Environmental Studies in 2009.  He has helped lead projects recognized with awards for design excellence from AIA Iowa, AIA Central States Region, and IIDA Great Plains Chapter.  He has also served as President and Board Member of the AIA Iowa South East Iowa Architecture Section, and as an editorial board member for Iowa Architect Magazine.


Alan Wieskamp, AIA, is a Project Architect and group leader in the Iowa City office of Shive-Hattery, Inc., a 120 year old Mid-West based architecture and engineering firm with 7 offices located in 3 states. Alan began his career as a draftsman following graduation from Kirkwood Community College and used those skills to later attend Iowa State University and graduate with his bachelor of architecture degree. Through Alan’s 25 plus years of experience in the architecture and construction industry, he has had a variety of experience in the design and delivery of all project types ranging from medical and nursing care facilities, K-12 education, commercial development, hotel/ restaurant and golf course projects and  historic preservation projects working with the National Park Service and HABS/HAER on The White House and Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Washington DC and First Bank, Merchant's Exchange and Independence Hall at Independence National Historic Park, Philadelphia, PA.


Other AIA Iowa elected officials outside of Iowa City include: Dan Drendel, AIA, Secretary; Douglas Foreshoe, AIA, Director; Deborah Hauptmann, Assoc. AIA, ISU Representative; Danielle Hermann, AIA, Vice President; Tonia Householder, AIA, Second Vice President; Lisa Kalaher, AIA, Director; Steve King, AIA, Director; Brandon Maxey, AIA Iowa Student Affiliate, AIAS President; Matt Ostanik, AIA, Past President; Kelly Paskert, AIA Iowa Allied Member, Allied Membership Director; Matthew Schultz, Assoc. AIA, Associate Director; Gary Van Dyke, AIA, President; and Kerry Weig, AIA, Treasurer.


Since 1857, the American Institute of Architects has represented the professional interests of America's architects. AIA Iowa, headquartered in Des Moines, is a statewide affiliate of the national AIA. AIA members express their commitment to excellence in design and are proactive in the design of livable communities. Members adhere to a code of ethics and professional conduct that assures the client, the public, and colleagues of an AIA member architect's dedication to the highest standards in professional practice. For more information, go to www.aiaiowa.org or call 515.244.7502.

#     #     #

For interviews or photos, please contact Jessica Reinert at AIA Iowa, (515) 244-7502, or e-mail her at jreinert@aiaiowa.org

AIA Iowa Firm Members