Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Press Releases

Architects Recognized for Public Service in Sioux City

Tuesday, April 5, 2016   (0 Comments)

Architects Recognized for Public Service in Sioux City

Sioux City, Iowa (April 1, 2016) – Four local architects and members of the American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter (AIA Iowa) have been recognized for their service to the community of Sioux City.  They are participants in the AIA Iowa Citizen Architect Program sponsored by AIA Iowa:

Matt Basye, AIA, of FEH DESIGN serves as Committee Member/Former Chairperson of the National Council on Youth Leadership - Siouxland Chapter. The National Council on Youth Leadership seeks to identify, train and recognize youth leaders who are involved with the their schools, community or religious organization. As the Former Chairperson, Basye organizes events, reviews applications, selects award winners, interviews students, produces program for the recognition event,  and speaks at the training seminar and recognition ceremony. Basye has been a member of the committee since its formation over 18 years ago.

Courtney Koch, AIA, of Cannon Moss Brygger Architects serves as chair of the United Way of Siouxland Young Leader's Society. The Young Leader's Society is an affinity group of United Way. This leadership group is made up of professionals, 40 years or younger, who want to make our community better through philanthropy, volunteerism and advocacy.  Koch has been a part of the executive committee since its inception in 2012 which meets monthly to plan and organize the events for each year.

Dale McKinney, FAIA, of M+ Architects was appointed as a commission member of the Sioux City Historic Preservation Commission. The Commission Informs and educates the public on issues relating to historic structures and events. McKinney attends meetings, plans preservation activities and regulates changes to buildings within historic districts. He is committed to the preservation of local, state, regional and national historical sites.

Todd Moss, AIA, of Cannon Moss Brygger Architects was elected Past Chair of the United Way of Siouxland. The United Way of Siouxland raises over $3M annually and distributes funds to non-profit agencies providing services that enhance the health, education, or financial well-being of the people of Siouxland. Moss previously served as Campaign and Board Chairs.  He provides support to the current Chair, Director and Board and participates in monthly Board and Executive Board meetings as well as other meetings and key events.



The Citizen Architect Program recognizes AIA Iowa members who represent AIA's values in their community through public service. To find out more about this program please visit

Since 1857, the American Institute of Architects has represented the professional interests of America's architects. AIA Iowa, headquartered in Des Moines, is a statewide affiliate of the national AIA. AIA members express their commitment to excellence in design and are proactive in the design of livable communities. Members adhere to a code of ethics and professional conduct that assures the client, the public, and colleagues of an AIA member architect's dedication to the highest standards in professional practice. For more information, go to or call 515.244.7502.

# # #

For interviews or pictures, please contact Jessica Reinert at AIA Iowa, (515) 244-7502, or e-mail


AIA Iowa Firm Members