Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Press Releases

Central Iowa Architects Recognized for Service

Friday, April 10, 2015  

Architects Recognized for Public Service in the Central Iowa Area

Des Moines, Iowa (April 8, 2015) – Twenty-five members of the American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter (AIA Iowa), have been recognized as participants in the AIA Iowa Citizen Architect Program by AIA Iowa  for their volunteer service to their respective communities in Central Iowa. The Citizen Architect Program recognizes AIA members who represent AIA’s values in their communities through public service.

Natalie Carran, AIA
Benjamin Design Collaborative
City of Ames Public Art Commission Board Member, City of Ames
Ames Community Preschool Board, City of Ames

Kristen Greteman, AIA Iowa Student Affiliate
Community Design Lab
Teaching Artist, After School Art Program

Eric Wessels, AIA
SBA Architects
Member, Dallas County Water and Soil Conservation Commission, Conservation Districts of Iowa

Todd Wehr, AIA
Shive-Hattery Architecture-Engineering
Treasurer, Ankeny Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Board


Des Moines
Mindy Aust, AIA
substance architecture
Board Member, West Des Moines Historical Society

Tim Bungert, Associate AIA
Brooks Borg Skiles
Mentor, ACE Mentor Program of Central Iowa (Architecture, Construction and Engineering)

Megan Drake, Associate AIA
Shiffler Associates
Committee Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation Schools Committee

Scotney Fenton, AIA
RDG Planning & Design
Commissioner, Des Moines Historic Preservation Commission

Naura Heiman Godar, AIA
RDG Planning & Design
Board Member, City of Des Moines Urban Design Review

Danielle Hermann, AIA
OPN Architects
Vice President of the Board of Directors, I Have a Dream Foundation

Paul Mankins, FAIA
substance architecture
Emeritus Board Member, Greater Des Moines Public Art Foundation

Brian Schwartz, Associate AIA
Baker Group
Project Coach, Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute

Evan Shaw, AIA
Knowles Blunck Architecture
Chairman, Grays Lake Neighborhood Association

James Spiller, Associate AIA
Knowles Blunck Architecture
President, Watrous South Neighborhood Association

Steve Stimmel, AIA
Brooks Borg Skiles
Committee Member, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs National Register Nominations Review Committee

Ann Sobiech Munson, AIA
substance architecture
Council Member, Slater City Council

Rod Stevens, AIA
Knowledge Consulting
Chair, Urbandale Board of Appeals

Warren County
Ray Phillips, AIA
Phillips Consulting
President of Board, Northern Warren Fire and Emergency Response Agency

Tina Rhodes, Assoc. AIA
GENESIS Architectural Design
Chairperson, Warren County Historic Preservation Commission
Volunteer, Lecturer, Docent, and Champion of the Summer Walking Tour, Iowa Architectural Foundation

West Des Moines
Joseph Benesh, AIA
Shive-Hattery Architecture-Engineering
Past-President Downtown Des Moines Chamber of Commerce

Curtis Ehler, AIA
Studio MELEE
Architect/Advisor, Local Neighborhood Municipal Library

Scott Hatfield, AIA
SVPA Architects
Commissioner, City of West Des Moines

David Hofmann, AIA
Shive-Hattery Architecture-Engineering
Club President, Rotary Club of Greater Des Moines

Edward Matt, AIA
Genesis Architectural Design
Committee Chair, Iowa Architectural Foundation Community Design Program

Jason Reis, AIA
Team South Team Leader, ACE Mentor Program of Central Iowa (Architecture, Construction and Engineering)


The Citizen Architect Program recognizes AIA Iowa members who represent AIA's values in their community through public service. To find out more about this program please visit


Since 1857, the American Institute of Architects has represented the professional interests of America's architects. AIA Iowa, headquartered in Des Moines, is a statewide affiliate of the national AIA.

AIA members express their commitment to excellence in design and are proactive in the design of livable communities. Members adhere to a code of ethics and professional conduct that assures the client, the public, and colleagues of an AIA member architect's dedication to the highest standards in professional practice. For more information, go to or call 515.244.7502.

For interviews or pictures, please contact Jessica Reinert at AIA Iowa, (515) 244-7502, or e-mail


AIA Iowa Firm Members