Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Press Releases

Rod Kruse, FAIA, with BNIM Architects

Tuesday, September 30, 2014   (0 Comments)

Rod Kruse, FAIA, with BNIM Architects

Receives AIA Iowa Medal of Honor

Des Moines, Iowa (September 26, 2014) – The American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter (AIA Iowa) awarded Rod Kruse, FAIA, with BNIM Architects the 2014 AIA Iowa Medal of Honor Award Thursday, September 25 during the AIA Iowa Award Celebration at the Central Library in Des Moines. The AIA Iowa Medal of Honor is the highest honor an AIA Iowa Member may receive from the Chapter, the purpose of the award is to recognize an individual for distinguished service to the profession of architecture.

Rod Kruse, FAIA has exemplified architectural excellence throughout his 36-year career by advancing the profession and building a reputation as one of the strongest design talents in the Midwest. Kruse works to elevate the quality of design and advocate for the architect’s role in creating a beautiful and sustainable built environment. His work has been recognized with nearly 80 Honor and Merit design awards at the state, regional and national levels. His portfolio includes three National AIA Honor Award winners and 11 other awards including a 2011 AIA Committee on the Environment (COTE) Top Ten Green Award and the 2014 AIA COTE Plus Award for extraordinary performance for the new, high performance IUB-OCA building on the Iowa Capitol Complex.

In addition to his design work, Kruse is also a mentor, an educator, a leader, an advocate and generous volunteer. He has served on numerous committees including the AIA Jury of Fellow for the College of Fellows for three years. He served as Chair of the 2012 AIA Institute Honor Awards Jury and a member of the 2013 Jury selecting the AIA’s COTE Top Ten awards. He has also served on the Iowa Architect Editorial Board. Kruse’s work has been included in traveling exhibitions, including the 14th International Biennial of Architecture Buenos Aires in 2013. He has lectured extensively, recently for the 2012 CoreNET Global Summit. For his service to the local community, Kruse received a Distinguished Service Award from Downtown Des Moines, Inc.
Kruse has been a principal with BNIM Architects in Des Moines for nine years. Prior to BNIM, he was a founding principal of HLKB (Herbert Lewis Kruse and Blunck) Architecture and began his career in architecture as a project architect designer at RDG Bussard Dikis. He is a graduate of Architecture at Iowa State University and of the Graduate Program Study in Architecture at Iowa State University.

The 2014 AIA Iowa Awards Celebration also includes AIA Iowa Excellence in Design Awards, AIA Iowa Sustainable Design Awards, and AIA Iowa Educator Award and AIA Iowa Honorary Membership Awards. The Awards Celebration was held in conjunction with the AIA Iowa Annual Fall Convention on Thursday and Friday in Des Moines. The 2014 Convention, "Clarity," focused on the importance of collaboration with clients, builders, and the community for the development of a stronger basis of mutual understanding and better solutions for a quality built environment.

About AIA Iowa
Since 1857, the American Institute of Architects has represented the professional interests of America’s architects. AIA Iowa, headquartered in Des Moines, is a statewide affiliate of national AIA with nearly 1,000 members. AIA Iowa members are committed to excellence in design and are proactive in the design of livable communities. Members adhere to a code of ethics and professional conduct that assures the client, the public and colleagues of an AIA member architect’s dedication to the highest standards of professional practice.


For interviews with the award winner, please contact Marisol Molstre at (515) 282-7145 or e-mail her at

AIA Iowa Firm Members