Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Press Releases

AIA Iowa Presents College of Design Students with Excellence Awards

Monday, April 14, 2014   (0 Comments)

AIA Iowa Presents College of Design Students with Excellence Awards

Des Moines, Iowa (April 14, 2014) – On April 9, 2014 the American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter (AIA Iowa)  had the pleasure of awarding four Iowa State University students certificates and medals of honor for their accomplishments within the Bachelor and Master programs of Architecture. The AIA Medals are awarded to the student with the highest cumulative GPA in the accredited programs and the certificates are presented to those with the second-highest ranking. This year’s winners are: Isabelle Leysens, Undergraduate Certificate, Bartholomew Phillips, Graduate Certificate, Alex Streyffeler, Undergraduate Medal, and Jorge Rodriguez, Graduate Medal.

“I am deeply honored to be acknowledged by AIA Iowa with the 2014 Graduate AIA Certificate of Merit.  Throughout my education I have consistently strived to achieve the very best, and will continue to achieve as I contribute to the field as a professional,” said Bartholomew Phillips, Graduate Certificate award winner.

“Awards focusing on high achievement across all areas of study are necessary to show the continued importance of being a ‘renaissance man/woman’ in the architecture field. Architects must be critically engaged in all aspects of design in order to improve the built environment,” said Alex Streyffeler, Undergraduate Medal award winner.

“The M. Arch at Iowa State University (ISU) and the AIA Medal has been a solid step in my learning process as an architecture student and my future professional development. Throughout my academic experience at ISU, I have learned to work hard every day, to take every task as an opportunity to design, and to give more than is required. I am thankful for the interaction among my classmates and the constant faculty support,” said Jorge Rodriguez, Graduate Medal award winner.

AIA Iowa Student Affiliates Erica Fischer, Michael Spory, Jason Alread, and Mark Jongman-Sereno also won awards during the spring College of Design Awards Day.

For interviews or pictures, please contact Jessica Reinert at AIA Iowa, (515) 244-7502, or e-mail her at

AIA Iowa Firm Members