Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
Committees

 
Looking for a way to get involved? Contact AIA Iowa staff at info@aiaiowa.org, 515.244.7502, or visit the Get Involved Page to view a list of current opportunities.
 

 

Committee Quick Links

 

Annual Convention Iowa Architect
Construction Industry Membership

Disaster Assistance

Nominations
Diversity Professional Development
Emerging Professionals Public Relations
Finance

Spring Conference

Government Affairs Young Architects Forum
Intern Advisory  

 

 

 

 

 

  


 

Annual Convention

Co-Chair: Brent Schipper, AIA; bschipper@askstudio.com
Co-Chair: Amber von Arb, AIA;avonarb@neumannmonson.com
The purpose of the Convention Committee to organize all aspects of the annual convention, which includes various educational workshops, national and international keynote speakers, professional awards and recognition, and a display of the latest architectural products and services. This committee meeting monthly April through September at the Iowa Center for Architecture. The 2016 Convention will be held September 21-23, 2016 at the Iowa Events Center, Des Moines, IA.

Committee Members: Brent Shipper, Amber von Arb, Joe Copley, Jason DeVries, Holly Pohlmeier, Justin Burnham, Jeff Wagner, Holden Rasmussen, Mike Young, Chad Harper, Jenna Thompson, Kayla Ohrt, Jackson Den Herder, Eric Berkson, Todd Mithelman, Paul Mankins, Matt Schultz, Jarrod Siegel, Jeanne Huntsman, Jordan Collins

Staff Liaisons: Amy Spike and Jessica Reinert

Construction Industry

Chair: Robert Carlson, AIA; rcarlson@cdt-pc.com
The purpose of the Construction Industry Committee is to increase communication between the architectural profession and the construction community through participation in the Iowa Construction Industry Forum (ICIF). This committee meets 2-4 times per year at ICIF meetings.

Staff Liaison: Jessica Reinert

Disaster Assistance

Co-Chair: Thomas Hurd, AIA;spatialdesigns@iowatelecom.net
Co-Chair: Edd Soenke, AIA; tdpusa12@AOL.com
The purpose of this committee is to participate in the Iowa Building Safety Assessment and Failure Disaster Response Team and Training (BSAFE). As well as to provide AIA Iowa Members with a disaster assistance resource kit, volunteer group and contacts concerning the disaster assistance needs of the State of Iowa.
Committee Members: Monica Bailey

Staff Liaison: Jessica Reinert

Diversity

Website: View the Diversity Committee Page
Co-Chair: Jesus "Chucho" Loria Quijano, AIA;cloria@neumannmonson.com

Co-Chair: Yosuke Michishita, Assoc. AIA; ymichishita@wells-plus.com
To explore and address relevant issues related to diversity within the Iowa architectural community, and make recommendations toward and actively assist in the development of programs and initiatives that foster and sustain cultural breadth and inclusion.
Committee Members: Azusa Allard
Staff Liaison: Jessica Reinert

Emerging Professionals

Co-Chair: Sadie Kleppe, AIA;skleppe@simonsonassoc.com
Co-Chair: Kayla Ohrt, Assoc. AIA; kohrt@bnim.com
The purpose of the Emerging Professionals Committee is to support Associate AIA members and AIA members considered Young Architects (licensed to practice architecture fewer than 10 years) through mentorship, guidance, information, and a network for intellectual and social interaction. This committee meets the Second Monday of each month from 12:00 noon at the Iowa Center for Architecture.
Committee Members: Erica Fisher, Craig Shannon, Connor Yocum, Eric Wirth, Gabe De Forest, Jason Reis, Ken Hagen, Laura Lynch, Matt Coen, Robert Van Haaften, Tim Bungert, and Tonia Householder.

Staff Liaison: Amy Spike

 

Finance
Chair: Tonia Householder, AIA; toniah@invisionarch.com
The purpose of the Finance Committee is to maintain Chapter investments, set long range financial goals, and Board Policies related to Chapter finances. The committee is made up of the Chapter Board’s First and Second Vice President, and a Board Director led by the Treasurer. This committee meets as needed at the Iowa Center for Architecture.

Committee Members: Dan Drendel, Matt Ostanik and Gary Van Dyke

Staff Liaison: Jessica Reinert

 

Government Affairs

Chair: William Dikis, FAIA;billdikis@msn.com
To purpose of the Government Affairs Committee is to communicate legislative concerns and lobby on behalf of the AIA Iowa membership, their practices, and the profession of architect. And, to uphold the ethical commitment of an architect: to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public.
Committee Members: Gary Van Dyke, Joseph Tursi, Matt Ostanik, Mindy Aust, Alan Wieskamp, and Paula Dierenfeld

Staff Liaisons: Jennifer Peters and Jessica Reinert

Intern Advisory Committee

Chair: Erica Fischer, Assoc. AIA;e-fischer@svpa-architects.com
The purpose of the Intern Advisory Committee is to guide architectural interns through their apprenticeship via the National Council of Architectural Registration Board's (NCARB) Architectural Experience Program (AEP), which establishes a council record to monitor the training process. This committee offers study groups across the state, for more information please contact Erica. This committee meets monthly along with the Emerging Professionals Committee at the Iowa Center for Architecture.

Committee Members: Craig Shannon, Joe Benesh, Maggie Dougherty, David Brockshus

Staff Liaison: Amy Spike

Iowa Architect Magazine

Editor: Jessica Terrill, AIA; jterrill@substancearchitecture.com
The purpose of the Iowa Architect Magazine and the Editorial Board is to showcase the best in Iowa and Midwest architecture, and to serve as a guide for design, the arts, literature, and innovative products and technology for its readers. This board meets quarterly at the Iowa Center for Architecture. Committee Members: Justin Burnham, Katelyn Rutledge, Grant Nordby, Renee Clarke, Jackson Den Herder, Michael Bechtel, Curtis Ehler, Khalid Khan, Andy West, Anna Jones, Danielle Hermann, and Brent Hoffman
Staff Liaison: Jessica Reinert

Membership

Chair: Danielle Hermann, AIA;dhermann@opnarchitects.com
The purpose of the Membership Committee is to increase and maintain the membership of AIA Iowa. The chair of this committee is held by the Board Secretary and works closely with AIA Iowa staff.

Staff Liaison: Vicki Scott

Nominations
Chair: Joseph Tursi, AIA; jtursi@opnarchitects.com
The mission of the Nominations Committee is to identify and recommend future leaders to the Board of Directors and the General Membership. They are responsible for the annual call for nominations to the Board and determining the state of Board Officers and Directors for the annual election process.
Committee members: Mindy Aust and Matt Ostanik
Staff Liaison: Jessica Reinert

Professional Development

Chair: Tim Hickman, AIA;thickman@substancearchitecture.com
The purpose of this committee is to provide continuing education and intellectual discussion on important issues concerning the profession. This committee meets quarterly at the Iowa Center for Architecture.
Committee Members: Jason Reis, Andrew McCready, and Steve King

Staff Liaison: Amy Spike

Public Relations

Co-Chair: Eli Goll, Assoc. AIA; egoll@opnarchitects.com
Co-Chair: Joe Wallace, Assoc. AIA; jwallace@opnarchitects.com
The purpose of the Public Relations Committee is to improve the public's awareness of the value of design through special events, literature, displays, and the Internet. The Public Relations Committee meets the Second Tuesday of each month at 11:30 a.m. at the Iowa Center for Architecture.
Committee Members: Brenda Golwitzer, Brittney Ruba, Eli Goll, Hannah Schurrer, Joe Wallace, Joe Tursi, Matt McIver, Matthew Schultz, and Brian Schwartz

Staff Liaison: Amy Spike

Spring Conference

Chair: Matt Ostanik, AIA;matt.ostanik@gmail.com
This committee organizes all aspects of the Spring Conference which includes various educational workshops and a mix of local and national keynote speakers. This committee meets monthly from November through April at the Iowa Center for Architecture.
Committee Members: Julia Gauthier, Tim Hickman, Andy Lorentzen, Tom Leslie, Zane Muntz, Grant Nordby, Todd Reding, and Gary Van Dyke
Committee Liaisons: Amy Spike and Jessica Reinert

Young Architects Forum

Chair: Kevin Wagner, Assoc. AIA; kwagner@substancearchitecture.com

The AIA Iowa Young Architects Forum promotes leadership, mentorship, and fellowship for the future of the profession.

Committee Members:

Committee Liaisons: Amy Spike and Jessica Reinert


Looking for a way to get involved? Contact AIA Iowa staff at info@aiaiowa.org, 515.244.7502, or visit this link to view a list of current opportunities, Get Involved.
more Calendar

10/5/2016
ARCH-E-NEWS

Contract Documents


AIA Iowa Firm Members

  Powered by YourMembership.com®  ::  Legal